Wednesday, 25 September 2013

Durga Pooja Celebration

Durga Pooja Celebration

Durga Puja (Bengali: দুর্গা পূজা,Bengali pronunciation: [d̪urɡa pudʒa]; listen: About this sound Durga Puja , ‘Worship of Durga’), also referred to as Durgotsava (Bengali: দুর্গোৎসব Bengali pronunciation: [d̪urɡot̪ʃɔb], listen: About this sound Durgotsava , ‘Festival of Durga’) or Sharadotsav is an annual Hindu festival in South Asia that celebrates worship of the Hindu goddess Durga. It refers to all the six days observed as Mahalaya, Shashthi, Maha Saptami, Maha Ashtami, Maha Navami and Vijayadashami. The dates of Durga Puja celebrations are set according to the traditional Hindu calendar and the fortnight corresponding to the festival is called Devi Paksha, ‘Fortnight of the Goddess’). Devi Paksha is preceded by Mahalaya, the last day of the previous fortnight Pitri Paksha, ‘Fortnight of the Forefathers’), and is ended on Kojagori Lokkhi Puja (‘Worship of Goddess Lakshmi on Kojagori Full Moon Night’).
Durga Puja festival marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura. Thus, Durga Puja festival epitomises the victory of Good over Evil.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.